Tech-Tox

by PHOENIX

So I broke my iPhone 5 after nearly two years without a hitch. I accidentally slammed it in a car door the screen was completely shattered. Now, this wasn’t the end of the world, my phone still worked but its surface was shedding glass like a golden retriever sheds hair in the summertime. Despite the occasional ‘ow-I-poked-my-finger-while-tweeting’, everything was relatively fine. The real problems didn’t start until I naively took my precious little baby to a third-party repair service. Needless to say, they botched my little sidekick beyond functionality. Those meanies. Serves me right for being too cheap to go directly to Apple.

After having spent several hours in the Apple store, they told me that there’s nothing that can be done. My only option is to get a new phone, but is that even necessary? Do I need a phone? No. I don’t need a phone. While crying as the Apple CSR delivered the bad news, I had an epiphany. This little device is the single greatest harbinger of stress in my life. The incessant notifications, phone calls, text messages, e-mails constantly bind me to my 3 jobs and 2 on-going group projects. Really, my workaholicism should finish when I close my laptop for the night, but because of my phone it doesn’t. On numerous occasions, I’ve woken up at 2am because of late-night text messages and e-mails from colleagues and coworkers. Now, this might not be so bad if I cared a little less, but I honestly care too much. Oftentimes, I feel guilty if I feel like I’m not working hard enough. It distracts me when I should be sleeping, when I should be paying attention in class, and even when I’m out for dinner with friends. Now, with the new year and all, I’m determined to cut back and simplify while committing myself to a technology detox (or a tech-tox as I like to call it). My laptop will be for school and work, my iPad will be for fun, and my phone will remain turned off for the next four weeks at least.

I guess this mishap was really a blessing in disguise. Or, I don’t know. Maybe this will hinder my ability to organize myself and stay connected to friends. Either way, I’ll be sure to post an update in a month’s time.

